In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology. For example, the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

In information technology (IT) there have been enormous advancement in last two decades such as the Web and email. I am of the opinion that these developments in IT will be beneficial in the future of humankind, though some of the people have opposing view.

To begin, email has taken the communication on a different level. It is way faster and convenient than traditional communication practices. Consequently, it benefits commerce and business. Furthermore, the World Wide Web means that bunch of information regarding any subject is available on a single click. For example, individuals can access news, online educational courses, medical advice and much more via the internet. Besides this, improvements in IT has helped researches in many fields such as in an automobile industry, medical industry, and educational system. It is evident that these developments have made life far more easier and convenient of many people and will continue to do so.

Nonetheless, this advancement has some negative effects too. For instance, many argued that the widespread use of email is destroying traditional forms of communication such as letter writing, telephone and face-to-face conversation. This could affect persons’ basic ability to socialize and interact with each other. In addition, also there has been declined in the traditional forms of reading, that is to say, in lieu of books and newspapers usage of Web has significantly increased to look for certain information.

In conclusion, although this improvement in IT has some drawbacks, it is certainly true that, in such a fast pace world development in IT have made easier and convenient life of many people. And, hence, even in future the advantages of this will overweight the disadvantages.