Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Nowadays, keeping in mind the competition and to survive in the outer world, schools are mainly focusing on teaching English rather than local languages. I believe that English is a language that is universally accepted and those who do not know this can face a struggle in their future. But, we can not ignore the importance of local languages that show the history and culture of a nation.

To start with, undoubtedly, English has many advantages, it should be taught to each and everyone at a tender age so that people become efficient in speaking this. There are enough opportunities in a career for those who speak English fluently than those who are less efficient in that. For example, if you have to explore an opportunity in any other country then you have to appear for an English exam. If you clear that exam then you will be eligible for further processes. Moreover, if you are able to communicate in English with your client, chances of getting a promotion and other opportunities are always in your favor. Thus, English is the primary criteria of every opportunity that everyone must fulfill (fulfil), so everyone should focus on learning this.

On the flip side, as it has become mandatory to speak English in every school, native languages have taken a back step and are not considered as important as English. The main reason is that local languages are not known to other people in the outer world. But it does not mean that people should not learn the language of their home country that shows the culture and history of their nation. For example, in most of the schools in Maharashtra in India, the Marathi language has become compulsory for every student till the 6th standard so that students should get familiar with the history of the Maratha's. Thus, to protect the local languages and culture the Government is trying to make it compulsory to learn them with English.

To sum up, as on the one hand, learning English is mandatory to grow in the future and become successful, on the other hand, to protect the local culture, it is important to learn local languages. The government is doing its best to secure the local language by making it compulsory up to a certain level of education.