Social Media websites have amassed large user bases, and have become the sole source of information for their users.

Do the advantages of being a part of a social media site outweigh the disadvantages?

Today their is a huge shift in resources of how we communicate and learn new things daily on the internet, one such popular culture is social media websites which not only has huge user base but also has lot of content for it's users to explore. In my opinion there are very few negatives than positives.

Firstly, to get in touch with friends and family anywhere around the world we use social media as a most essential tool this days. For instance, if I want to talk to my parents across the globe I can connect with them on app called Whatsapp instantly this feature is not only convienent to use but also saves lot of money on phone bills because this app runs on internet subscription. In addition, You-Tube is one such tool which also has a large user base where you can watch, learn and create lot of valueable content to large section of audeince. As a result, we see so many creative vlogs represneting their vibrant cultures and also helpful to instantly get in tocuh with with our family from anywhere in the world.

Secondly, one huge drawback of this growing popularity of social media is data theft, we in many ways are vunerable to this. To put it in other words this social media websites run a targeted ads to your user profile by extracting your data with advanced tools, many reserchers around the world had came to a conclusion that tech giants like Facebook and Gooogle try to sell our data to third party user which makes us unsafe. For example, If you search for a product on Google it will create a alret of it try to run the targeted ads belong to that search in all the browsing sites and make lot of money ou of it in the name of user experience and create a indirect risk to your privacy.

To conclude, I would say having a social platform is very essential for us to grow professionely and it also enhances our horizons. In order to make users safe governments around the world need to mandate social media laws more strictly so people feel more safer to use and get most out of it.