Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People opt to move to another country for a better career opportunity or quality of life. Most of the time, different country speaks different language; even English which is widely spoken is not an official language in many countries. Because of that, communication problem is inevitable and I strongly agree that it poses some frustrating problems in early years of immigration.

The very first problem people encounter when moving to a new country is socializing. It is hard to find a new friend in a country that most people only speak local language; nonetheless, there is a chance to meet an extrovert person who can slightly speak the common language and is willing to make a new friend. On the other hand, speaking in lingua franca that both party do not have good command of, would only allows unsophisticated communication without deep feeling expression. At the end, the immigrant has to learn the host language in order to communicate fluently in a long term.

Practical life is also affected by the lack of communicability. For example, people will find it inconvenient to order food in a restaurant especially when there is no photo book available; furthermore, the experience will be much worse when one need to order food via telephone. Even more, all regulation related matter such as driving license will be hard to get done, opening a bank account or applying for a credit card will also be troublesome.

In summary, there will be some initial problems that people will find when moving to a new country. Technology will be a very good friend at early stage; nonetheless, learning local language is necessary. After all, life is for learning.