Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that choosing a foreign country to live can cause many social and practical setbacks. While I agree with this idea, I believe most problems can be solved little by little as time passes.

On the one hand, there are various nations along with different traditions where people may want to live. These traditions are sometimes as extremely important as other country rules which people expect you to know and respect. Thus, having no familiarity with the culture the community is likely to create a tremendous pressure on both new immigrants and inhabitants. For example, in my homeland, Iran, people have an indifferent trait which doesn’t express their authentic feelings about things or even each other. As a result, this trait called “Tarof” doesn’t make sense for a foreigner who may get in trouble and confuse about individual real purpose. Additionally, lack of knowledge and lack of speaking proficiency can be considered as a huge misunderstanding among people.

On the other hand, I believe that people from all over the world would finally be able to interact with each other in a peaceful way. The more time is spent by travelers in another country, they will be more likely to get acquainted with new cultures and conventions. To overcome cultural and social issues, for instance, having an intimate native friend brings out a long term advantages to live and avoid verity of problems. What is more, when it comes to practical obstacles, if individuals put their efforts to improvise the language barrier in the host country, this would be an influential step for productive communication and interaction at work with natives.

In conclusion, I do not believe that social and practical difficulties because of language barrier in a foreign country are an insurmountable problem.