Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines.

Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children?

With recent developments in technology, especially in medical science, several vaccination have been invented to prevent deadly diseases by immunizing children from early age. However, it has not been effectively utilized by people so the question is whether to employ law and enforcement to force parents to provide early dose of medicines. In my opinion, effectiveness of such laws is highly doubtable unless the real issues is identified and proper actions are taken to resolve them.

To begin with, nobody wants harm for their offspring, especially regarding their health. Then why do some parents do not provide necessary vaccine doses to their children? The obvious answer is the lack of awareness about the illnesses and required medical assistance that is advised during initial days of child’s life until it becomes beyond curable. Further, the price of the medicine is also a huge issue, which sometime cost them a fortune. For instance, 90% of cases of polio, which were registered in India, in 1990, came from poor rural background. Thus, it is difficult to encourage people towards immunization just by enforcing laws.

Moreover, every parent is entitled to have freedom to choose the best for their kids. It is everybody’s fundamental right, which cannot be violated under any circumstances. Otherwise, there is no difference between democracy and dictatorship. Thus, making strict laws to push parents for medical assistance, which is costlier and people are unaware of, is not acceptable at all.

On the other hand, Governments can run continuous awareness programs to educate people about the cure for those disease and try to make it available for free or as minimum cost as possible. The excellent example of impact of above actions is the polio free India since 2001. Authorities had continuously ran polio awareness advertisement and supplied medicines for free of cost to achieve that goal.

In conclusion, forcing people to immunize their child by laws is not as effective as the other approaches if we really want to immunize future generation from curable diseases.