In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

People across the globe spend a lot of time and money while choosing a house for themselves. There has been a drastic increase in the number of people opting to occupy flats in huge buildings in major cities. This essay will discuss in detail how the benefits of living in apartments surpasses its drawbacks.

To start with, one of the biggest drawbacks which discourages people from opting to stay in flats is the space-constraint. Since the area is predefined and fixed in the blueprint, making additions or extensions at a later stage is not possible. For instance, once the apartment plan is decided, the buyer is allotted a fixed space with a binding clause that restricts them from encroaching the common area. This obviously restricts the buyers, especially once their circumstances change including marriage or children. It is therefore not a preferred choice for some to move into an apartment house and so they prefer living in individual houses.

Having said that, the numerous benefits the flats offer, makes them a preferable choice for many. The foremost advantage is the safety it guarantees. People from different walks of life occupy these apartments and therefore, security of paramount importance. For instance, installing up-to-date security cameras in common areas and placing guards at various entrance points, becomes a necessity, to avoid entry on unsavory characters into the building. This promotes the feeling of safety among its residents.

Another positive aspect is the opportunity it presents to make friends and extending the social circle. Today's hectic work life does not provide time to individuals to make new friends. This is taken care when people living in the same apartment who share the common tastes and preferences, come together and socialize. Since, they live nearby, time is not lost in elaborate planning and travelling. For instance, young mothers often look at other mothers who have children in the same age-group, for support and guidance. This strengthens their bond, builds trust and mutual respect over time. Since people meet almost everyday, they are able to catch-up on each other more than those who opt to stay in individual houses.

To conclude, the essay highlights the benefits of living in an apartment which includes the safety & security of its residents and the opportunity to develop ever-lasting friendships, inspite of having concerns with living in a constrained space. The increasing number of people moving into flats clearly points towards the changing preferences of today's city crowds.