In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, instead of living in typical individual houses, living in apartment blocks has become increasingly popular among citizens who live in urban cities. While there are some cons of this kind of accommodation, I would argue that living in apartments is a more viable option.

There are some downsides for living in apartments. Firstly, there are less communication between neighbors of apartment units. For example, it is not uncommon to hear that people living in apartments do not even know the name of their neighbors. Secondly, residents can only enjoy limited space of living. Outdoor amenities such as courtyards and rooftops that are quite common in detached houses are not always available in apartment blocks. Finally, the cost of living in apartments tends to be much higher than living in houses. More specifically, people have to pay extra fees for the property management company for the maintenance of the security.

Despite the above arguments, I believe there are also some advantages of living in apartments. The most significant one is the increase in safety. What this means is that professional security guard corporations are usually employed by the management company of the apartment blocks for the maintenance of security. By installing surveillance cameras and disallowing unauthorized people from entering the apartments, crimes such as aggravated burglary can be efficiently reduced. Moreover, there is much less housing maintenance work needed when living in apartment units. Compared to those living in individual houses, residents of apartment units enjoy less maintenance work such as utilities supply, because these are usually supported by the property management company of the apartment blocks.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of living in apartments, in order to reduce the time and effort required to maintain the safety and operation of the home, I believe that it is much sound to live in apartments.