In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

A sheer number of citizens these days prefer living in flats instead of detachable houses. The positive aspects of residency in flats such as strict security, modern amenities and luxurious lifestyle overshadow the negative aspects.

In terms of drawbacks, firstly, one of the major disadvantage is that flats are tad and claustrophobic. They are not spacious hence, disliked by joint families. Secondly, there are no lawns, basements, personal garage and parks in apartments, thereby people cannot enjoy balmy weather or sit back, relax and release their stress. Last but not least, residents are unaware of both their surrounding activities and neighboring individuals.

Despite the demerits, there are merits owing to which residential apartments are preferred. Apartments are architected in a manner that they provide their residents with all modern amenities in a stylish and compact space. Additionally, flats possess heightened security as they have security surveillance cameras installed every few kilometers and properly trained security guards are employed, who keep a strict daily record of all the guest visitors and residents as well. Moreover, strict security levels significantly curtail the chances of burglary, vandalism, abduction and arson in the premises.

Furthermore, residential flats are located in downtown thus providing all sorts of facilities nearby namely educational institutes, hospitals, shopping malls and offices, hence the individuals do not need to travel remote places in order to avail these facilities. In addition, flat themselves are properly equipped with basic necessities including gym, clubs, an uninterrupted supply of electricity, water supply, internet and sewerage system. All these positive aspects make the experience of living in a flat world class and worthy.

In conclusion, even though flats are compact, lack personal garage, lawns and their residents are self-centered but the merits such as luxurious lifestyles, modern amenities and heightened security overshadow the demerits.