In many cities young people prefer shopping as a form of leisure activity why do you this this happens and is positive or negative development

Shopping is considered one of the most crucial things in modern society. People of all ages do shopping for different reasons. However, it is the segment of the youngsters that are considered as the major contributor to the shopping frenzy. Though shopping for the necessary things is important, problems generate when youngsters start to do this activity to have fun.

Firstly, every youngster wants to look handsome and desire for the most popular clothing and accessories. As the fashion industry is one of the biggest industries around the world, they bring the new type of clothing and accessories in the market constantly. These products get manufactured after a lot of research and based on popularity. Hence, teens easily get influenced by them and go on a shopping spree. Ironically, they see better and more modern clothing and accessories available in the same market the very next day.

Next, with the inception of technology and with the huge investments in the advertisements of their products, industries have ensured to make every single person aware of their products and the young generation is not untouched by it. Moreover, as young people tend to follow film stars and other popular celebrities, a desire to look like them takes over. As they are not as talented as most of the celebrities, the young generation fulfills their desires to be like them by shopping for the gadgets and clothing these celebrities use and wear.

Lastly, this type of shopping frenzy by the youngsters cannot be considered positive anyway. However, they shouldn’t be blamed for this phenomenon altogether as it is also parents’ responsibility to make them aware of the difference between the real and reel world. They should also be taught about the significance of the money and about its productive use.

In essence, the activity of shopping undoubtedly is crucial. However, when people start to take it for granted and start doing it just for fun, it leads them to financial hardship. As the young generation has a developing mind, they cannot differentiate between good and bad aspects of it. Hence, the responsibility to make them aware of the productive use of their pocket money lies with the parents.