In many countries government spend a lot of money in improving internet access. Why is it happening? Do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

Ameliorating the internet infrastructure by allotting astronomical proportion of national budget is common in many nations, especially developed countries. Various causative factors are being held responsible for this trend. Although it seems an advantageous approach, I strongly hold a belief that it is not judicious decision to spend such a huge amount of public funds on availing internet access.

It is easy to comprehend why this investment is favored by regime of wealthier nations. The preponderant reason is that the availability of online network not only proves beneficial for individuals but also assists in the smooth functioning of the governments’ official work. If every citizen whether he is working or non-working has the access of web, he would be updated with the vast information such as current political scenario, weather updates and even he will be acquainted with his rights; consequently, accessibility of the internet connection provides assistance to broaden the horizon of people. Besides, state incumbents give preference to keep the records of official work online, replacing the manual work which results in efficient management of the records. Thus, investing on the development of internet facility is acknowledged to be beneficial approach.

Despite these benefits, I do not see eye to eye with this proposal. There are many other pressing issues such as poverty, educational sector, health care facilities and employment which require immediate attention of authorities. Government needs to assign budget on providing the basic amenities to the underprivileged people in order to bolster the standard of the country. Who wants to access internet when he is dying because of scarcity of food?

Conclusively, despite the fact that investment of public grant for the improvement in the network connection is regarded as a boon in terms of spreading awareness and smooth execution of work, I firmly consider it as a squander of public money.