In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building Do you agree or disagree

Smoking cigarettes is injurious to health. In many countries there is ban on smoking in public places like the Garden and playground, railway stations and airports, even indoor environment such as offices and theaters. This essay agrees with the statement firstly because, it is harmful not only for the smoker but also the non-smoker and secondly smoking pollutes the environment.

Smoking causes many diseases such as cancer, respiratory and cardiovascular disorders in the long run while, it reduces the stamina, causes cough and sore throat to name a few immediate effects of smoking in the short run. The above health issues can be afflicted upon even those who are passive smokers. Recent studies have confirmed that, the ill effects of smoking are as dangerous for the non-smoker as it is for the smoker himself, if not worse. Hence in the spirit of good health and sensitivity to others, the smokers should go to a distant place and smoke privately.

On the other hand, it has many effects on the environment such as, it pollutes the air quality of premises, and the stench of the smoke remains in the area for a long time causing uneasiness in breathing. The waste that is generated due to smoking also need to be cleaned, which is another task for the Government, restaurants and bars which allow smoking. For instance, the smoking friendly Cafes’ and clubs need to redecorate the arrangements after the mess created by the customers. Overall smoking is a nuisance and it creates a lot of garbage and pollution.

To conclude, Smoking has many negative effects on health of both the parties smoking as well as non-smoking and it also is hazardous to the nature. In my opinion, the countries which ban smoking of cigarettes in public places are taking the right measure to prevent and protect public health and safety.