In many countries, the legal driving age is 18 years old. Some people believe it is the right age to learn how to drive a car, whereas others say that the minimum age should be 25. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether the legal driving age should be 18 years, or whether it should be increased to 25 years. I believe that early age is the best age to learn driving skills.

The legalization of driving age to 25 is advocated by people because of the sense of maturity level and responsible attitude in one's twenties. With regard to the former, at this age of life, one is mature enough to drive a car within the speed limit set by the roadway authorities. One starts becoming aware of the ill effects caused due to rash driving and drives the vehicle sensibly. However, the youngsters are fascinated by high-speed driving and take it as a thrilling experience and pose a threat to themselves as well as other road drivers. As far as responsibility is concerned, it is also thought that a mature person is more obliged to follow the traffic rules when on the road, and pay attention to not only one's own safety but pedestrians' safety as well.

However, the above arguments can be rejected because of the youngsters' rights and eligibility, and also due to the fact that young age is the best age for learning. As for the rights and eligibility, it is not true that youngsters are irresponsible because, at this age, they become eligible to cast a vote and are considered as responsible citizens of a nation. Therefore, if they are eligible to choose their leader, then they are also eligible to hold a driving license with a sense of responsibility. As for the idea of early age learning, the reflexes are quicker at this young age, and they also go through the driving test and training to get a driving license. Therefore, it cannot be assumed that even after passing the strict procedure, youngsters don't pay attention to road signs and their own safety.

In conclusion, I reject the idea that the minimum driving age should be increased to 25 because, at the early age of 18, the driving skills can be better developed, and also, it is the age when a person becomes eligible for other civil rights with responsibility.