In the world of the internet, people write product reviews of products and services. Do you

think this is a positive or negative development?

Opinions are divided on whether the fact that customers post online reviews of goods and services is beneficial or harmful. I believe that both buyers and sellers get benefits from this trend in general.

Online rating of goods and services is advantageous to consumers in terms of saving in time and value of money. With regard to the former, peer recommendations are credible sources for someone who has to buy any new product or avail of any service. Not only would this save someone's time in decision making but also helps to select one from a wide variety. As far as value for money is concerned, the five-star rating and positive experience of other users ensure the buyers that they are purchasing a good quality product from a genuine retailer, which would be worth their money spent. In fact, some reviewers also share their experiences related to faulty products and how generous the provider was to refund, which helps others to proceed with payment without being worrying about loss of money. For these reasons, many consumers benefit from online posted experiences of others' purchase.

In addition to the advantages to customers as mentioned above, reviews wrote on a company website also offer several benefits to a business. The most important of which is free advertising of one's brand. This is due to the fact that each review that is posted online by customers expose the brand name, the type of product and service to readers, thereby increasing their awareness of the company and its business. This kind of free promotion provides mass exposure that one might never be able to afford through traditional marketing channels. Constructive criticism and feedback is another advantage to any business firm. This could be a good opportunity to resolve customer problems and improve business practices, as well as to analyze the reasons for customer dissatisfaction to serve them better in the near future. Therefore, reviews on the internet are helpful for any organization too.