Many parents complain about violence promoted to their children through video games, TV programs and other media. Why is it happening? What can be the solution for it?

Opinions are divided on why entertainment media, such as computer games and TV shows, promote violence in youngsters. I believe that it is caused by violent content and the action figures used in this form of media, and the solution lies in monitoring children's activities.

Entertainment media causes aggressiveness in minors for reasons related to the more emphasis on negative themes and the negative influence of superheroes. With regard to the former, most of the video games are designed with themes, in which players are awarded virtual coins, fighting equipment and even declared champions if they fight with or kill an enemy. This leads them to focus on less sociable pursuits including illegal ones, some of which may be violent or drug-related. As far as the role of superheroes is concerned, children consider them as their role models and as a consequence of this, they imitate the violent scenes they observe in TV shows. It is also true that the under-18s view this violence as an acceptable solution, as it is often modelled in their favourite movies and cartoons.

Parental supervision offers the best chance of shaping young minds in constructive activities. One possible way this could be done is by limiting the time children spend on playing mobile games and watching television, as well as disapproving the violent acts and stressing the belief that such behaviour is not the best way to handle problems. Encouraging children to participate in extracurricular activities is another way to divert their mind. Not only would this boost their self-esteem, but also widen their social circle by making new friends with similar interests.

In conclusion, video games and TV programs promote violent behaviour in youngsters because of the negative content and the influence of cartoon characters. Parental control could alleviate the adverse effects caused by entertainment media in relation to risky behaviour.