In many countries paying for things using mobile phone cellphone apps is becoming increasingly common Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages

Online payment applications usage has become ubiquitous in many countries nowadays. While these mobile applications have issues like cyber-attacks and disturbing advertisement pop-ups with each click, there are major benefits like banking convenience and strong security measures from genuine bankers. This essay will discuss in detail regarding these advantages and disadvantages, and provide evidence on why I believe that the benefits of online payment methods outweigh its drawbacks.

Digital payment applications usage has a few disadvantages. One of these drawbacks is that these apps are vulnerable to cyber-attacks. Although the web designers claim for the safety of the apps, there are many reported complaints like money laundering by hackers in many countries. Other than this, there are plenty of ads which pops-up while navigating through these apps that are click baits. For instance, when a person opens a bank app, there is a probability that it is linked to an advert with a disturbing image or adult content.

However, there are many advantages of the online payment platforms which outweigh these issues. These payment modes make people's life easier as they do not have to physically go to a bank to make a transaction, unlike the earlier days. It not only saves traveling challenges but also saves a lot of time as bank transactions can be made with just one click. Another major benefit is that genuine online banks have educational materials which guarantee safety of the customers personal information. For example, banks like ADCB, Emirates NBD keeps on sending online security alerts via SMS and emails, like importance of not sharing a password to a fake caller, to ensure that their customers are aware of the precautions which they need to take for the safety of their account.

In conclusion, use of online applications has become increasingly common nowadays. Despite the risks of payment account being hacked and unwanted advert pop-ups, in my opinion, people will continue to use these applications as these are more convenient than going to a bank and there are genuine banks who ensure safe transactions.