In many countries paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages

Exchanging goods has witnessed a huge improvement from the times when barter system was prevalent to the days where printed currency is used as a mode of payment. Because of the advancements in technology, it is becoming a common practice to use cellphone based apps for making the payments or completing any financial transactions. While this development has both pros and cons, I think this development has more benefits than the side-effects it creates.

Firstly, user experience in terms of using the Mobile phone applications is enriching. Although the initial days of apps faced some technical discrepancies such as phone getting hanged or shutting down altogether, more robust principles have been employed in the later releases that catered for stability as well as User interface improvements. According to Payments Authority of India, last financial year has seen a huge spike in payments made via mobile apps namely Google Pay, Phonepe, PayTm which contributed to about 45% of the marketshare of transactions. Also, it is expected that this trend will further reach higher percentages in the upcoming years proving how advantageous consumers are finding such modes.

Secondly, using apps to make payments has drastically reduced the need to carry cash and cards to the shopping centres. Gone are the days where a heavy wallet with fully loaded cash or cards used to be an additional baggage when someone wants to purchase anything or complete any payments. From my personal experience, there were often times where I got frustrated and helpless as I had to travel back to my home whenever I forgot my wallet. With mobile phone becoming an integral accessory, I now feel much relaxed even if I miss my wallet at home as I can simply use the mobile phone to purchase anything of my choice.

To conclude, while there are certainly disadvantages that are often resulted due to poorly maintained security in some apps, such instances can be avoided if the users can employ some safety features in their phones. Overall, this transition of enabling the payments using mobile phone apps has more advantages comparatively.