In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

It is irrefutable that aged population is rising in many nations dramatically. Governments are concerned about such a community because there may be several problems associated to it that needs to be taken control of. I intend to delve into the positives and negatives of increasing aged population on the society.

More number of older people means many experienced people in different fields. Aged people have experience of different things such as professional life and personal life. Youngsters who are to gradudate from colleges could learn from such a generation that has knowledge about a particular field. Not only does the professional life of old people would be a lesson to them, but it may inspire them too. Consequently, adults would use that knowledge in their life that would help them in achieving their goals. For example, Bill Gates is an inspiration to the young generation and they watch his journey from his teenage sacrifices to building a successful company ‘ The Microsoft’.

Nowadays, companies prefer not to hire old individuals because of less efficiency due to their age, therefore, older generation struggle to find a job for living. Young professionals are able to work in a fast-paced environment and finish a task more quickly in comparison with aged employees. Thus, less opportunities are given to the older people that make the living very troublesome for them. As a result, aged people are unable to live a decent life and the poverty rate increases in the country. To illustrate, Bangladesh has the maximum poverty rate around the world because the nation mostly operates manufacturing firms which embrace complex tasks that can be done by young people only.

In conclusion, the increasing proportion of older people is problematic issue for many countries. Though, it has some benefits to the societies, but has more severe problems such as rising poverty rate that is not just a concern to societies however to the entire nation.