In recent years, the family structure and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

In the last few decades, many changes have arrived in family structures that has resulted a change in the roles of its members. A whole family was living together in one big house in the past; however, very few families are living with their uncle and aunt’s family today. Various changes can take place that would have some positives and negatives on individuals and societies.

People are moving out from their joint families, and live a seperate and independent life. Earlier, a whole family was sharing the same house, staying closely connected with each other. Nevertheless, people are preferring to live only with their family which includes parents and children because of some reasons, such as, jobs, or to maintain their personal life. Consequently, a family would not see and interact with other family members frequently, and they would know less about each other in the future. For example, families sometimes forget names of other children in their family because they rarely get to talk to each other.

The change in family structure have some benefits and flaws that would effect individuals and societies both. Scarcity of communication would weaken the bond of family members. Some families might take an important decision individually that may cause a severe consequence, in which no one would be able to help. Moreover, the youth generation would never consider living in a joint family in the future because of the changes in the present. On the other hand, personal life of family and its members would be maintained, and one would become responsible for their family, thus would be an effective decisive in every situation. People would be excited to meet their relatives, whom they have not met for a long time.

To conclude, although changes are taking place rapidly that have many positive and negatives for everyone, family is of utmost importance for a person; therefore, necessary steps should be taken to sustain the traditional joint-family culture.