In many countries, shops are open long hours every day of the week. Discuss the positive or negative effect on the shopper and the local community.

In the modern world, with the growing population, various businesses are being opened to fulfill the needs of the people. Owners of these businesses keep opening their shops in the hope of more business coming in. On the one hand, it seems quite necessary and beneficial from the businessmen’s and people’s perspectives, however, on the other hand, it may have some detrimental effects of the lives of business owners. This essay will evaluate the good and bad aspects of this development and will produce a conclusion.

Firstly, every businessman wants their business to be recognized and to fulfill this dream; they don’t mind working extra hours. If the efforts are made in the right direction, they may be fruitful in the long run undoubtedly. Moreover, there are various grocery chains such as 24*7, who have a business model to remain open all the time as per their business requirements and have to fulfill this promise to maintain their customer base. Furthermore, as labor law doesn’t allow anyone to work more than eight hours, businesses who tend to operate longer than this duration, hire more people leading to less unemployment.

Next, though the significance of the business model and to put the extra efforts to grow a business cannot be ignored, staying late at work may have some adverse results in people’s personal lives as well. As some of them are forced to do night shifts, they are more likely to get sick as their immune system also gets affected by the abnormal lifestyle.

Lastly, most of the businessmen start their businesses with a goal to earn money and they want their businesses to spread quickly come hell or high water. However, they should ensure to have a balanced lifestyle and should focus more to do smart work.

In essence, keeping the shops open for a long time isn’t the guarantee of expansion of the business. A business should be true to its model and owners’ should focus on being more productive during the hours they work and to maintain their personal and professional lives in a balanced manner.