In many countries a small number of people earn extremely high salaries Some people believe that this is good for the country but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level Discuss both these views and give your own opin

Nowadays, some employers pay extremely high amount of salaries to the top management with stock options and other benefits. This is the cause of concern to many others who think governments should put an upper limit on salaries so that everyone is equal. This essay will discuss both the views and suggest the writer’s opinion.

To begin with, the highly educated people who have invested in acquiring knowledge and education will always command higher pay scale like the scientists, engineers and medical experts. The value that they add to the organization is billions of dollars in revenues. So, they are paid equally well to keep them motivated to add more value. To exemplify, in a research held by Harvard University, it was confirmed that 90% of wealth of the world is controlled by 10% of the population of the world. Their contribution to the economy is the greatest and they help in generating employment, introducing cutting edge technology, constantly innovating and adding value to the growth of the country.

However, it is argued by many that the distribution of income and wealth should be optimum and the government should have a system to keep a control on the salaries. For example, in china, the government regulates everything including the salaries of individuals to maintain a balance in the country. Such balance sometimes is detrimental to the growth of the country, as there will be no competition and motivation to break a new ground each day.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that, many countries pay exorbitant salaries to a few employees, to which some people dispute and urge the government to regulate the salaries of individuals in the country. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the idea of government’s intervention as it might be detrimental to the growth of the country.