In many countries today people are choosing to have fewer children. Why is this case? What are the effects of this trend on society?

People in different parts of the world are opting to have limited number of offspring. In this essay I will expound various reasons causing this and its impact on the society.

Firstly, it is evident that resources are scarce and growing population worldwide is a huge matter of concern to people, societies and governments. For instance, scientists have predicted that by the end of 2050 world will face acute shortage of drinking water and food therefore, population control is the way forward. Another reason is the overall deteriorating quality of life such as health, security and education facilities provided by the government. Furthermore, it is easier for parents to raise two kids by giving them an excellent education and a better life instead of having more children with weak foundations and no future. Finally, overpopulation causes poverty, illiteracy, crime, health issues, hyperinflation, and starvation.

There are many positive impacts of having a small family from micro as well as macroeconomic perspective. Firstly, family planning helps in boosting socioeconomic development from a single household to the entire country. Secondly, having controlled population rate allows governments to offer its citizens with better healthcare, security, education, infrastructure, and job opportunities. For example NHS in United Kingdom offers best government-funded health facilities. Additionally, birth control helps families to raise their children in the best possible way and later they return back to the society by contributing in the country’s progress. It is also a known fact that, countries having controlled population such as Norway, Switzerland, USA, and Japan are more developed, rich, progressive and happy nations. However, one downside to this would be low number of young population in the country’s workforce, but that can be corrected by introducing effective laws and policies.

To recapitulate it, family planning plays an important role in an individual lives and greatly benefits the society by saving man-made and natural resources. It helps parents in deciding best future for their children and for themselves. Having a small family is the key to bright future for parents, society as well as governments.