In many countries, very few young people read newspaper or follow news on TV. What do you think are causes for this? What solutions can you suggest?

Over the years, media has changed rapidly with development of technology. Earlier the only source of news was newspapers later came with radio, Television and social media. However, around the world there is increasing concern over decreasing popularity of reading newspapers and TV news channels popularity among young generation. I believe this was occurred mainly due to introduction of social media and below essay illustrate this issue in detail with reasons, impact and possible alternative actions to overcome the consequences.

At present format, most of the newspapers and news channels are not attractive for younger generation. The Language used in the newspapers are too difficult to understand and the style and content of the articles are not familiar or relevant to young age group. On the other hand, young generation conversant with latest technology of internet and smartphones, thus they have access to the social media news site at ease with much simplest language. Due to that reason, young generation interest with the traditional news channels and newspapers are diminishing as these are not attractive and outdated.

In order to increasing the popularity of watching TV news channels and newspapers should change their strategies to attract young generation. As an example, TV news channels should present on the internet sites, with less complex languages with face lift to attract young people. Apart from that, introduction of news programme or school based newspapers for school curriculums will provide positive impact and encouraging children to watch day to day news on regular basis. Furthermore, this will enhance the children’s knowledge about outside world.

In conclusion, many young people not interested to watch news channels due to traditional presentation method they used. In order to change this trend, these channels must change their strategies of presenting news format to attract young people. Further, introduction of school based news programmes or newspapers will have positive impact and encouragement among young children to watch the regular new programmes and newspapers.