In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

The world has become a small village where every corner of the planet is being photographed or recorded on TV. Modern day affairs are broadcasted live on dozens of TV channels or published in daily newspapers. However, the younger generations do not seem to follow the news as closely as the older one. The causes of that notion will be discussed in some detail and some proposed solutions will also be presented in this essay.

The main reason why so many teenagers and young adults do not follow the news is that they find it depressing and boring as well. Not only do the news contain images of families devastated from war or even natural disasters are very upsetting, but it also present political topics or debates that most likely do not interest the younger population. Another reason is the fact that major news outlets such as TV or newspapers are no longer relatable to teenagers who spend the majority of their time on their phones or on social media. These methods of delivery are

However, these cause can be counteracted by some simple solutions. The first of which if to present the news in shorter formats that can be delivered through messages or mobile phone applications. The second of which is to open a daily discussion in classroom at schools to present updates on major events that are happening in all the world. It will prove highly beneficial if every university also had its own newspaper in order to spread awareness of universal issues.

Despite the importance of knowing the current affairs of the different countries in the world, young people do not seem to grasp the concept of reading newspapers or watching TV news shows. While the method of delivery and the depressing content might one the causes of their indifference, some steps can be taken to increase their level of awareness.