Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

For centuries people have been using letters to connect with each other, to share good or bad news with family members or to communicate with different agencies and establishments. However, as of late, the traditional letter is being replaced with modern electronic mail.This begs the question of whether letters will be completely replaced by modern means of communication or not.

Letters have a sentimental value for some people since they represent a physical proof of their memories with their loved ones. There is also letters that are a testament of career or educational achievement which make their recipients very happy. Furthermore, official agencies tend to communicate with citizens through a traditional mail service because not all individuals have internet access and consequently might not have an e-mailing account.

E-mails on the other hand offer a faster and more efficient way of conveying messages because they are delivered instantly. They do not requires no costs whatsoever as opposed to the fee charged when sending a regular letter. As a result, one can also expect a faster reply to their messages in contrast to the potentially long period of time that it takes for a letter to be delivered to one's mail box.

In conclusion, I personally do not believe that e-mails and similar connection methods will entirely replace the traditional letter in some cases as mentioned. However, I also expect that in the upcoming years the number of people exclusively using e-mails to communicate will increase since they save time and require no charge.