Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A number of individuals think that parents would enroll their children in sports or music classes which are team oriented, while others think that parents should give their children the freedom to practice activities of their choosing. I personally believe that striking a balance between the two methods is what serves the children to best realize their potentials.

Those who lean towards organized group activities such as sports teams or music and singing choirs believe that it is the best way to teach young people discipline and cooperation. Discipline is very evident in group activities since they require periodic training sessions at predetermined times each week. Adhering to training timetables definitely helps the participant learn discipline and responsibility. In addition, being a member in a team teaches children how to work with others and cooperate in order to achieve a collective goal. Such traits are what encourages parents to enroll their children in group activities.

On the other hand, letting a child determine how their free time would be spent is equally important for some people. As they prefer that parents give their children the liberty to pick their own hobbies since that leads to being independent, and also builds character by allowing self-discovery. For instance, some young people like to solve puzzles or read mystery books and researchers found that these children are more likely to take interest in science and engineering careers. Not only that, but even if a child enjoys playing games or watching films it can be a form of relaxation for them. Hence some parents encourage their children to enjoy themselves however they like.

On balance, some prefer that parents make their children take part in team activities since it would be a valuable experience. Yet others prefer letting children decide how to spend their free time. However, I am of the opinion that a child would benefit from both approaches.