In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

The youth of this generation is least interested about the news, what’s happening in our country. Still few young people shows the interest and follow news whether by reading newspapers or watching news channels on TV. I am going to discuss some caused and suggest some strategies this.

In my opinion, the youth of today’s generation don’t understand the importance of news and consider it as a boring thing. The major cause behind youngsters not interested in news is that most newspapers are designed for adult audience and not presented in the format that teenagers find attractive. Another reason is language used in newspapers is too difficult and style content is usually serious. Due to this, only few young people read the newspapers. Moreover, lack of interest towards news is due to young people are fascinated by new technology such as computers and internet. For instance, my nephew always prefer to spend more time on computer than reading or watching newspaper, because he does not find news interesting. As a result, there is relatively less interest in traditional news format, which is considered outdated and unappealing.

However, there are some strategies by which teenagers and youth will attract towards the news. First of all, the news channels should present the news in the format which is appealing to young people like through videos or taglines. School and colleges should publish their own newspapers and these newspapers should be publish by students. This will increase the interest of teenagers to go through the news regularly as this will be part of their curriculum.

To summarize, less count of young people who go through the news actively can be increase by changing the format of newspapers and make it attractive to young generation. Also, in school and colleges should publish their own newspapers which should be publish by students.