In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?What solutions can you suggest?

In earlier times, people relied on newspapers or televisions for news or to gather information about happenings around the world. However, the trend to follow newspaper or TV is decreasing in most of the societies. This is due to a change in lifestyle and availability of alternate sources of news at disposal which are cheaper and convenient. In this essay, various factors causing the change in trend and the actions needed, if any, to reverse it will be discussed.

For example, newspapers are not convenient to carry every time and could be read when the reader is sitting at one place either at an office desk or in the home, though some people carry them while travelling too. But now we have alternate options like e-papers on websites, which can be read on desktop, laptop or mobile browsers; they are more preferred over conventional paper-based news. Internet-based news not only provides convenience but also saves a great deal of time, as people can read news practically anytime at work or travelling i.e. in between the meetings or while having coffee or during smoking breaks or in a metro.

Also, Television news is great for people having a liberty of time, which is not the case for most of us. Due to a change in lifestyle and increasing work pressure, people often spend more time in the office or travelling which allows them to spend little time at home with family. The value of this time is precious and many prefer to spend this watching family programs than news. Compared to television based news, the mobile-based news application like 'Inshorts' or 'Newshunt' filter out the news based on reader's interest and provide the essence of an hour-long primetime news show on television, in very limited words saving time for the reader.

To conclude, changes in lifestyle and availability of alternate and more convenient news sources, the popularity of newspaper or television based news are diminishing. However, so far consumers are able to receive news what they seek, the medium of news is truly immaterial. And I personally don't see any merit to promote some mode of news over others.