Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

When it comes to health, we always thrive for the most effective method to cure illness. Nowadays, people don't hesitate to give a try to non-conventional medicines for curing. However, I believe these methods are not only harmful but they can be life risking too.

To begin with, modern science has invested humongous money, energy and time to do research on the medicines which are most suitable to cure disease among humans. They are clinically proven to be the most effective to fight diseases and are approved by trustworthy institutions like FDA. While, alternative medicines are not widely accepted and many people don't know if they are really able to fight illness. For example, if disease like H1N1 or Ebola cannot be treated with help to alternate medicine. If one is taking chance with non-conventional medical treatment, he may be playing with his life.

Also, conventional medicines are tried and tested on samples in laboratories before making available for patients, which is not the case with alternate medicines. Hence, they might not be safe to take in. Additionally, they can have adverse side effects on human body in some case. For example, there are some popular home remedies for kidney stones in Asian counties like India and China, which may work well in for few, but due to high lead content in those medicines, many patients may have very dangerous impact on internal organs like liver.

To conclude, although alternative medicines are being popular due to lower cost and necessity of less expertise, I would not choose them over modern medicines which are safe and most effective to cure life threatening disease.