Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Impact of advertisements on consumer psychology has been always an area of interest for product manufacturers and marketing companies. Some people have opinion that advertisements causes over burden on pockets of consumers, while other think they can lead to better lifestyle. In this essay, I will discuss arguments from both sides and will talk about which side I support.

Advertisements usually are designed in such a way that they touch consumer’s emotions and reinforce their trust on the brand being promoted, even if they are costlier. This is the reason some people think that advertisement are mere mechanism to mint more money from consumer by hypnotizing their minds. They argue that less smart consumer end up spending lot more than their budget due to fall prey of marketing campaigns. For example, if a phone buyer is naive about the latest technology, he may end up spending huge money if he just follows the adverstisements of the latest phone models. Also, many young consumers have crave to purchage latest products, so that they get attracted by promotions by companies on social media or television, and end up spending on them which in reality they don’t need.

Inspite of above small negative points, many people belive that advertisements are such a great platform to know about what latest is available in the market that can make their work easy and imrove quality of their life. For example, if latest technology of vaccume cleaner or washing machines are not promoted by advertisements, consumers will never know what all product options are available in market. Moreover, competition of advertising various products provides opportunity to buyers to select right product by comparing their features and costs. If they don’t see them on advertisement, they would end up buying the products which are available in nearby stores without exploring much options in market.

Although, sometime advertisements seem to be proven heavier on pocket to some, many appreciate the benefits of advertisement on their life. And I certainly agrees with latter view and suggest consumer to make best out of advertisement while keeping check on the unwanted spend.