Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.Discuss both these views and five your own opinion

Many parent feel ambiguity over selecting school for their kids and one of the key question strikes their mind is to choose co-education or gender specific school. Well, there is no clear win but usually depends on the kids and their social background.

Separate school for boys and girls are referred by some parents who fell that their kids are too introvert and may feel shy from the kids from other genders. In such cases, separate school provides suitable atmosphere for students. For example, one of my cousin is so shy that she does not speak or share her opinions when she is surrounded by boys. When she was kept in girls school, she excelled in her studies which she couldn't have done otherwise. Also, people from certain section of society are conservative and they may not feel comfortable to send girls to schools where boys also study. It is possible that they may completely drop the girls off from further studies. In such scenario, separate school for girl atleast give opportunity to female students to continue with their studies. So in such case, separate school is boon.

However, co-education schools are very important in today's era for the parent who want their children to learn gender equality from early age. In schools, where boys and girls study together, there is no room for gender discrimination. Students from each gender respect and value other gender. Also, such school prepares students for real life where one has to work with people from other gender in their personal and professional life. Most European countries which promotes democratic values and gender equality prefers co-education.

In my opinion, co-education is very important and preferred education system as it creates broadmindedness and imbibes gender equality which are among the most important social values. I believe of children start learning about psychology of opposite gender early, they will be better prepared for their future as there can't be any society where one doens't need to deal with person from other sex. And if one is not prepared, it may cause awkward situation for oneself while working in plural environment. Hence, I prefer co-education over separate school for boys and girls.