News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would be better if more good news was reported?

Undoubtedly, the reach of print and electronic media is much farther today than it ever was. News on newspaper and televisions creates perception and influence consumers. Chiefs of media houses decide what we watch on primetime while sitting on the dinner table or what we read over morning coffee. And there are many factors affect the decision of editors, before picking the news to air, i.e. what people want to hear, what connects them, what influences them, etc. But in many cases, more than consumers demand, authorities control news agencies to propagate their own agendas. In this essay, we will discuss both positive and negative news and its impact on people.

Negative news is sometimes real and must be reported very seriously but nowadays bad news is trending much faster than good news. People get more intrigued to watch negative news than positive. For example, news about riots or terrorist attacks discussed much more in media compared to medical advancement or scientific achievements made by scientists in the world. Hence, it is media houses' general perception to sensationalize the news to increase the TRP and get maximum watch time. And due to this more bad news come to people compared to good news. If people reject such a notion, then media houses will be forced to get positive news for people.

Obviously, good news has a positive impact on people. It creates a healthy perception about the world we live in, gives opportunities to celebrate the success we achieve as the human race, and creates a conducive atmosphere for citizens. Imagine, if you take a newspaper in hand in the morning and get the news that "Cancer will not take lives anymore", will you not feel good about it? But just contrary, if you read about Plague outbreaks, you receive negative vibes.

I certainly believe negative news has a role to play to make society aware and cautious about what wrong has happened or could happen, but at the same time overdose of negative news creates fear among society. Hence, I believe positive news must be discussed more than negative news as it creats good outlook towards life and world.