In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Notion of taking a break for work or travel in between secondary school and graduation is supported in many countries. Certainly it has some benefit but at the same time has some negative too. In this essay, both the pros and cons of this idea are discussed.

Taking a break after completing 10 to 12 years of schooling gives some time to students which they can utilise for work or travel. While working, young people get insight of real work life they would face after graduation. At the same time, they could earn and save money to support their further studies. That not only gives sense of responsibility to adolescents, but some financial relief to their guardians. Students opting for travel break get benefitted too as travelling enriches their overall knowledge and gives broader perspective. They would be able to learn about history, local art, geography and many more subjects. Travelling also help students to introspect and learn about their true areas of interest and subsequently they can elect them as their major while in university. Considering above facts, we can certainly say that taking a break is surely beneficial in many ways.

However, there are certain valid arguments in support of a view of continuing education without any break. Firstly, taking off in between schooling and graduation may distract adolescents; in certain cases, they may lose focus due to work or travel. Lastly, a country promoting educational break as practice, might delay the readiness of the workforce of nation. In such case, there can be long term adverse impact on social and economical indicators. So, we need to be mindful of adopting a culture of work or travel break during studies

To summarise, young people should thoroughly consider all positives and negatives and based on what is most suitable to them, they should take decision of break.