Some people think it is better for children to grow up in the city, while others think that life in the countryside is more suitable. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both places?

The environment in which a child grows up plays an important role in shaping the young one’s future. Although it is considered by some to be advantageous for children who grow up in cities, other people believe that childhood in the countryside is more beneficial. Children raising in cities can gain in terms of education and access to health care but compromise on some fronts. On the other hand, the countryside lags behind in a few aspects but offers cheerful upbringing.

Firstly, one benefit children get in cities is better school education. As mostly best of the institutes are located in urban areas, as students children get plenty of them to choose to study. Also, people from various backgrounds migrate to cities providing valuable exposure to children with a great understanding of various cultures. As a result, they grow up as tolerant and adjusting adults. Another benefit of living in cities is the availability of better health care facilities. Especially during the early years, children are vaccinated to immune them from life taking diseases and are required to visit paediatrics more often that can be easily available in city hospitals. However, a life in the cities is more hectic. Due to that children may not get enough of their parents’ time in childhood days.

On the other hand, the countryside provides with a clearer atmosphere as compared to cities because various pollution levels are significantly less in non-urban areas. This certainly provides a suitable environment for children to get nurtured. Additionally, rural areas have open fields, forests and natural beauties which makes childhood more memorable. Therefore, once children grow up they have many stories to tell about childhood experiences. But children brought up in rural areas may find little difficult to adapt to city life when they move there in future for job or work, mainly due to cultural shock.

To conclude, life in cities give opportunities to children which they may not get in countrysides. At the same time, children raised in rural area are not completely at losing side.