In many countries, weddings are getting bigger and more expensive than the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that present day wedding ceremonies are grand and more materialistic as compared to past. In my opinion, it is an unnecessary squandering of money and loss of natural resources which makes it a negative development.

Nowadays, people wish to have a fairytale wedding which cost them an arm or a leg. This is because apart from buying exclusive outfits and accessories for the bride / groom, they also have to pay for providing the best hospitality to their relatives like booking a descent hotel for their stay, gifts and so on. People from high socioeconomic can afford such expenses ; however,those who belong to low socioeconomic cohort can not handle it. The later group have to give away all their savings just to make their day special and to maintain social status. Some people even take loan for this reason and are in debt for years .Indeed ,this is not a wise decision .Instead this money can be used in a better way by saving it for future emergencies or for other important work .

Moreover, such weddings causes heavy loss of our natural resources.T he main attraction of any nuptial is the delicacies offered to the guest to gorge on and the flamboyant ambience and décor of the venue. Hence, to make it a mammoth event and to show up social status no stones are kept unturned by the people . Althought the food is prepared according to the guestlist ,yet much of it is wasted as people are served liberally beyond their appetite .In current scenario, where many nations are facing scarcity of food and electricity, it is irrational to waste such useful resourses.

In conclusion, the big fat weddings have direct impact not only on our financial state but also on our valuable natural resources . Therefore , it is certainly a negative development.