Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people , however think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people hold the view that economic success is a key indicator to measure progress of nations around world. However, some argue that there are other factors besides just economic growth that governments should focus in their efforts to bring improvements. In my opinion, other indicators like environmental sustainability, interracial harmony and gender equality play more significant role for nations to progress.

On one side of argument, there are people who believe that raising national gross domestic product or per capita income is the most important target for the government. As reducing poverty and increasing incomes would enable people to live a better life and improve their standard of living. Furthermore, less unemployment would also mean less crime and corruption in the country. These arguments justify that key focus of governments should be generating jobs and increasing the manufacturing and trading outputs that bolster economic growth.

Despite of the above mentioned argument, in my view there are other factors that could depict success for a nation. For instance, it is imperative for a country to have appropriate waste management practices, clean energy sources and invest in preservation of wildlife, flora and fauna of their region. Depleting natural resources and pollution could have detrimental effects of health of citizens and future generations. In addition, being wealth would not guarantee peace and harmony among the countrymen who may come from different races and backgrounds. Governments should ensure that there is religious tolerance and cooperation within the different ethnic groups residing in a country. Lastly, gender equality & inclusiveness of the physically challenged could also be an indicator of success since they also form an equally important part of the population that an administration must serve.

In conclusion, while economic progress is an important factor, it could only depict the short term success of a government and their policies. In long term, administration can only be successful if it can preserve the nature maintain peace and inclusiveness in polices for every citizen residing in the country.