Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these places?

National museums and historical sites are the valuable treasures of our society. It is unfortunate that local people do not visit these museums very often. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for lesser count of local visitors to such sites including busy lifestyle and misconception of knowing everything about their country or state. Further I will suggest some solution to change this trend.

These days, It is quite common to see that visit to museums and historical monuments are enjoyed majorly by tourists and outsiders in contrast to localites. The primary reason for this thing is that local residents are busy with their work and personal chores therefore, they underestimate the significance of local heritage buildings. Another major reason could be a belief of having complete knowledge about their country or state. Hence, they consider visiting local museums would be a waste of money and time and they prefer other amusement places to visit with their family.

To accelerate the count of local visitors to the museums and ancient sites, the government should open and organise free tours to these buildings on national holidays so that local residents could visit them on any convenient day without taking leave from office. Another significant solution to this issue could be to organise contest and quizes for local people that would attract many to participate and win prizes. Thus, local people could learn something new about the local heritage in a unique way.

To conclude, It is undeniable that museums and historical sites have remained tourist attractions only. Local visitors do not have time and they believe also that there is no use of visiting such places as they are aware of their country's history and information. I believe that there are various solutions to this situation such as free tours on national holidays and contest with prize distribution for local people could increase the count of local visitors greatly.