Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these places?

National museums and historical sites are the valuable treasures of our society. It is unfortunate that local people do not visit these museums very often. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for lesser count of local visitors to such sites including busy lifestyle and lack of interest. Further I will suggest some solution to change this trend.

These days, it is quite common to see that visit to museums and historical monuments are enjoyed majorly by tourists and outsiders in contrast to localites. The primary reason for this thing is that local people are busy with their work and personal chores and they also believe that they are well-known to the history and details of their country and state therefore, they underestimate the significance of local heritage buildings and consider visiting local museums would be a waste of money and time. Another major reason is that nowadays, there are abundance of other attractive places where people love to go for example, water parks, carnivals, casinos and so on. Moreover, adults also want to visit the places where there kids enjoy and let them enjoy so, they do not find museums and other historic monuments as best place to visit in contrast to other lavishing amusement places where they can play, swim, dance and do any other recreation activity.

To accelerate the count of local visitors to the museums and ancient sites, the government should open and organize free tours to these buildings on national holidays so that local residents could visit them on any convenient day without taking leave from office. Another significant solution to this issue is to arrange exhibitions and contest for local children which would attract many to participate and win prizes. Thus, children would love to visit museums with friends and families , share their experiences with others and learn something new.

To conclude, It is undeniable that museums and historical sites have remained tourist attractions only. The major reasons for the lesser count of local visitors is their hectic lifestyle and lack of interest in museums and historic sites. I believe that there are various solutions to this situation such as free tours on national holidays and exhibitions and contest with prize distribution for local people could increase the count of local visitors greatly.