Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior. Other disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In the past few years, tourist industry has grown tremendously. It is commonly believed by many that visitors should follow local traditions and customs while some other people believe that they should bring their own cultural values and host countries should accept it happily. In this essay, I will discuss both the views and provide my opinion about the same.

On one side, it is a matter of fact that most of the tourists visit other countries just to learn about the local traditions and customs. Also it gives immense pleasure and pride to local people when visitors imitate their rituals. For example, during festive seasons in India, the number of tourist population increases gradually, this is because they want to experience our way of cherishing festivals such as holi, diwali and other national events. Moreover if visitors will try the local customs, it will bring an additional source of income for localites who trade cultural dresses, accessories, local food and drinks.

On the other side, if visitors bring along their own cultural values then also it would be beneficial for the host country’s people. This way people could learn international or other country’s traditions while living at their hometown.

In my opinion, visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior as this will also raise their interest to visit other countries and this may also expand job opportunities in term of local guides, artists, chefs and craftsmen.

To conclude, it is an argumentative matter that visitors should follow local traditions or host countries should accept cultural differences. Both these cases have their own benefits from vistor’s point of view and host country’s view but in my opinion, if local culture and traditions are followed by visitors than it would be more fruitful with regards to work opportunities, extra source of income to poor villagers or localites and widespread of cultural information.