Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are more museums to charge the admission for the visitor. Some people think admission may cause some disadvantages. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantage.

Admittedly, museums charge of admission might restrict certain people to come. People from poor family or having a financial burden would not consider to visit a museum which is going to charge. Also, to charge fee might jeopardise tax payer's benefit. Part of the tax has been allocated to museums every financial year for the daily operation. The local citizens may feel frustrated since they have to pay extra money to visit the museums.

Nevertheless, the above argument is one-sided, since it fails to consider the long-term benefits that would entail. For one thing, tickets income enable to afford more employees getting a job in museums. New staffs can provide specific service to particular groups. For instance, museums can hire the retired professor to be a historical guide for those elder people groups which enjoy to listen old stories. In addition, the extra income from admission could offer an opportunity to organise the cultural exchange events with other museums or local communities. It allows to access the ground people, spreading more history informations to different ranges of visitors.

For another, the admission helps to maintain a better quality of museums. As we know, every stuff was kept in the museums has high cultural value worth a huge money. It cost most of the budget to keep them as the original. For example, one famous picture has to stored within certain weather condition, with proper temperature and humidity, which require high stander indoor environment.

To sum up, charging fee to the visitor might upset several groups of people, but it can provide a better quality service and create a premium museum to the visitors.