Many Offenders commit more crime after serving the first punishments. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problems.

It is true that many criminals repeat crime even after their first jail sentence. This is due to indifferent attitude from society and family and it can be managed by social awareness among the public.

The primary reason for repeated offences from first-time imprisoners is that they receive a negative response from the community. This is to say, many people believe criminals are dangerous to society as they might engage in similar actions in future. Because of such intuition of doing felony, society ostracizes and keep them at a safe distance. By doing so, outlaws feel dejected and lose hope to restart a new life. This will lead and compel them to indulge in anti-social activities again. For instance, a recent study conducted by human rights commission shows that 30% of criminals commit crime after their first jail sentence since they are rejected by family or society.

The best possible way to confront this pressing issue is public awareness programme. In other words, society must be educated about different types of criminals and get rid of the feeling that all the convicted are habitual offenders. This is because, in many instances, crimes are committed by momentary impulse and they repel later in their life. So it is the primary responsibility of the community to take part them in social activities and provides all provisions to have a satisfactory life. Vocation training in Tihar jail in India is a perfect example of this where prisoners are taught how to embark and run small scale industries. This will help them to have a decent earning in later even if the family disown them.

To conclude, repetition of crime by jail leavers is the serious issue facing every society. However, it can be solved to great extent by accepting them as a human being and active participation in social life.