The percentage of overweight children on western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Underage Obesity is increasingly common in the western world. Over the last dacade, Western Societies have seen close to a one-fifth rise im number of children who are overweight. This essay will discuss some reasons why this has occurred and examine consequences of this concernes trend.

The main cause of this issue is poor diet. Over the last ten years there has been increased in number of faat foods restaurants. For instance, Almost every streets of junctions have 2 or more fast foods joints such as Mr biggs, Pizza hut and Taste Fried Chicken to mention few. The food sold in this place has been proveen to be unhealthy. Their major advertising strategies focuses on the children be cause they beleive underage constitue bulk of their customers. Morealso, It is not only eating out that make the child obsessed, given junks or ready made food to child at home is another major factor. Most parent are working hard are they do not have enough time to cook in their respective home.

The effects of this have been consider to be very serious. First and foremost, Not eating balance diet can result to disease such as infections because of low immune system to combact it. Finally, Overweight child always suffer psychological and emotional disorder among their peers because there have a stigma of being called biggy and this could lower their self- esteem.

To conclude, It seen that the impact of obseity amongst western children is negative. Societu must ensire that steps are taken to prevent this problem from been deteroriating.