The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

A huge increase of obesity in young people has been noticed in the past 10 years specially in the Western countries. Knowing that obesity is a leading cause of mortality in the world, a clear study for the reasons and the resulting consequences for this issue is crucial.

In fact, there are many reasons for gaining weight in youngsters. Firstly, the sedentary life style that almost half the population is facing due to the technology advance. For instance, Teenagers would rather prefer to spend the majority of their time surfing the internet and playing games instead of performing any physical exercise like jogging or biking. Secondly, ingesting high amount of fatty food plays also an important role because in those days most of our mothers are working and they don’t have enough time to cook so they would rather prefer to order ready food or to prepare some easy recipes such as Burgers or Pizza.

Consequently, there are a lot of resulting effects. Starting with health related problems, it is well-known that overweight teenagers may develop many diseases such as diabetes, cardiovascular events and dyslipidemia .Recent studies conducted in youth people has shown a direct link between insulin resistance and obesity. Moving on the physical performance, most of obese teenagers will not be able to do regular exercises since they will feel tired directly. Furthermore, such people are not able to take part in any football or basketball game for the same reasons stated above.

To sum up, the percentage of obese children is increasing dramatically especially in those recent years therefore analyzing the causes and the consequences is very important to come up with possible solutions.