Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment.Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals who serves their first prison sentence, leave only to re-offend. This is mainly because of the lack of rehabilitation and difficulty in finding regular employment once released. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with criminals who re-offend.

The primary reason for most first-time offenders committing crimes again, once they released from prison is due to lack of rehabilitation whilst in prison. In other words, offenders are not given a chance to retrain and learn new skills for their future or develop a deeper understanding of correct moral behaviour and instead mixed them with other criminals, which only strengthens their criminal intentions. Apart from this, repeat offending is also owing to the difficulty in finding employment once they released. As a result, many of them struggle financially which leads them back to crime.

There are two effective solutions to the problem of repeat offenders. One way to tackle this is to ensure that all criminals entering prison are given chance to retrain with useful skills which will hopefully ensure them a job offer after they served their sentence. By doing this it will help them reintegrate back into society and give them some mean of supporting themselves financially. Another method of dealing with criminals who re-offend is to have more supervision and checks in place when they back in society. This solution would hopefully prevent them from taking any chances and deter them from re-offending because they are being closely watched.

In conclusion, having training in prison and also close supervision when first offenders are released are effective in dealing with this issue. If governments implemented these solutions,crime figures would soon drop.