In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin.

Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In the concurrent world, it is observed that, in some countries, the companies dealing with skin products are making good amount of profit. In my discourse ahead, this essay will not only highlight plausible reasons behind this situation such as a blind run to follow fashion and growth in corporate sector, but also discuss negative effects on individual's health and society as a whole.

To commence with, the first and foremost cause for burgeoning usage of cosmetic products is people's preference to follow latest fashion trend. In other words, particularly youngsters invest huge amount of money to impress others. Another prime reason behind this development is to gain better career opportunities. This means to say that it can be seen that the impressive look is one of the criterias to select candidate during interviews in certain multi-national organizations. This has resulted in ever-increasing usage of creams to glow face. Take for an instance, an article published in Toronto Times in 2019 revealed that more than 30% customers preferred to use an anti aging cream from Pfizer cosmetics limited to get better career opportunities.

Despite the numerous benefits of skin creams, the negative effects of it should not be neglected. The dire consequences of using such products is side effect on skin. This is because the chemical components used to manufacture such products are dangerous for natural skin cells and have numerous detrimental effects. A good case in point is a report of Glenmak pharmaceutical limited in 2019 which stated that approximately 15% customer reported allergic reactions including red rashes and swelling of face after applying Glucederma lotion. Moreover, inevitable effect of it is unnecessary financial burden on the society. In other words, it is certainly true that most of ingredients used in dermatology products are quite costly which ultimately increases the price of products. A group of people have to spend a lot to purchase such products.

To conclude, it is an undeniable fact that cosmetic industries are making good profits from products used for whitening skins in some nations as people prefer to use it to follow fashion and grabing better opportunities which has negative impacts on individual's health and financial condition.