In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin.

Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In the current scenario, by looking towards the latest market analysis of Asian countries, it is believed by a vast section of society that

the companies dealing with skin products used for glowing face are making good amount of profit. In my discourse ahead, this

essay will not only outline plausible reasons behind this trend such as a blind run to follow fashion and growth in corporate sector, but also

discuss negative effects on individual's health and society as a whole.

To commence with, the first and foremost cause of using too much cosmetic products is people's preference to follow latest fashion trend. This means to say that instead of living comfortable life, majority of mass try to look better than original look to impress others. Another prime reason behind this development is the incredible growth at workplace. It can be seen that the impressive look is one of the criterias to select candidate during interviews in certain multi-national organizations. This has resulted in ever-increasing usage of creams to glow face. Take for an instance, an article published in Toronto Times in 2019 on market growth revealed that more than 30% customers preferred to use an anti aging cream from Pfizer cosmetics limited to get better career opportunities.

However, despite the fact that usage of skin cream glows skin color, the negative effects should not be neglected. The main dire consequences of using such products is side effects on skin. This is because the chemical components used to manufacture such products are dangerous for natural skin cells and have numerous detrimental effects. A good case in point is as per report published by the department of medicine, Cambridge university in 2018 more than 15% customer reported adverse effects including red rashes and swelling of face after applying Glucederma lotion from Glenmark pharmaceuticals limited. Moreover, another inevitable effect of it is unnecessary financial burden on the society. In other words, it is certainly true that most of ingredients used in dermatology products are quite costly which ultimately results in high price of products. A group of people have to spend a lot to purchase such products.

To conclude, it is an undeniable fact that cosmetic industries are making good profits from products used for whitening skins in some nations. As mentioned above, people prefer to use it to follow fashion and to grab better opportunities which has negative impacts on individual's health and financial condition.