Many people are spending a lot of money on their weddings.

Do you think it is a good thing?

A lavish wedding is the dream of many young people. But in my opinion, one should opt for a simple marriage ceremony in order to avoid wastage of money as well as food.

To begin with, marriage is a sacred bond between a couple. Many people plan to try to make this event special by spending a big chunk of their savings. For example, in Punjab, most people book costly hotels or restaurants for such functions irrespective of their financial conditions. Results are in front of us, almost half of the Punjab population is under the debt of various private or public banks due to this practice.

Moreover, lavish weddings lead to wastage of food. When more than half of the world population is starving for food this does not look good at all. Instead, people should donate the money saved for marriage for some social cause. Take for example the couple in Canada donated 5000 dollars from their wedding collection to an NGO.

Lastly, Not only wastage of food fat wedding leads to accumulation of plastic waste. As the disposable plastic plates are commonly used in weddings for serving food to guests. It is common to see heaps of plastic waste after a big function. To illustrate, this year in India a South African billionaire organised a ring ceremony function of her daughter in Uttranchal and it was in news for the aftermath waste accumulated at the ceremony site.

To sum up, people should avoid fat weddings as they are responsible for deteriorating not only their financial status but the environment as well.

The wastage of food can also be avoided by opting simple ceremonies.