Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society To what extent do you agree

It is conspicuous that more and more people spend extended period of time on social media platforms nowadays. It is argued by many that this trend brings detrimental effects on the community as a whole and also on individuals. In my opinion, this is a valid argument considering various factors.

Social networking can have manifold negative impacts on individuals, particularly on younger generation. Spending extended time periods on social media has become commonplace amongst youths, wasting a lot of valuable time which could have been used for more valuable work such as studying. Not only does this habit wastes valuable time, but also this can lead to poor health conditions such as poor eyesight as prolonged usage of digital screens can have bad effects on eyes.

On the other hand, social networking has caused community to live in isolation recently. This is because they often tend to connect online rather than actually meeting friends and loved ones. If there were no social media, people would go out frequently and meet others in person which is essential in maintaining better relationships. Moreover, number of victims of online scams has soared in the past few years and social media can be pointed out as one of the main tools scammers use to lure possible victims. Since it is possible to assume fake identities and appear as legitimate users in social media, many people fall prey to such scams.

In conclusion, social media has brought various negative impacts on both individuals and the society such as wasting of time, bad health effects and increased number of online scams. In my opinion, it is therefore crucial to use online platforms wisely.