Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.Why do you think this happens?What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

Modern transportation has brought an evolution in the way human beings used to travel in medieval times. It has made travel comfortable, faster and convenient. Thus many people prefer to travel by their cars rather than buses or trains as it makes their journey comfortable and faster. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate on this contentious topic. Additionally, I will also state some measures which the government can take to motivate people to travel by buses or trains.

Firstly people prefer to travel by cars as it faster and convenient as compared to buses or trains. For instance, while travelling from my home to office it usually takes me around 20 minutes on the other hand if I take a bus it will take me at least one hour as the bus has to stop following a designated route and stop at the all bus stops. Similarly while travelling from one place to another you may need to change multiple trains or buses thus making the journey inconvenient as compared to a car. For instance, from the downtown station to the central square mall you have to change three buses and two trains thus making the journey tiring and inconvenient. Additionally, in third world countries due to the lack of public transportation people have no choice but to travel by cars. For instance, in many cities in India poor public transportation has left no choice for the locals but to use their own car or hire cabs. Lastly, people in many countries find public transportation like buses or trains to be unsafe for women hence it not the preferred mode of commutation.

Hence governments globally should focus on upgrading the transportation infrastructure and put more frequent buses or trains on busy routes so that people find it more convenient to travel by buses and trains. Moreover, the government should keep separate coaches or seats for women, children and elderly so that it make their journey comfortable.

To conclude in my opinion the car will still be preferred mode of transportation however government can step up some measures as mentioned above to make public transportation much faster and comfortable.