Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.

Why do you think this happens?

What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

This is a known fact that people commute from one place to another. Specifically, they use their own or rented car instead of opting for any of the public means of transport. In my view there are concerning reasons for doing so and I will give some solutions on how to tackle the issue.

Firstly using car specifically to go to one place from another has surplus benefits. One of which is faster arrival time to destination which is not quite possible when travelling by trains or buses particularly inside the cities where traffic is already teeming. To illustrate from my personal experience, it takes 15 minutes to reach to my office from home when travelling by car where as in bus it takes around 45 minutes due to traffic congestion. Secondly, when going to a particular place if there is no direct connectivity between two points then the traveler has to change and opt for multiple or different transport medium which could be huge inconvenience at times. In addition to that, travelling by car makes journey much safer for female commuter especially during night. For all of the above mentioned reasons anyone chooses the other over trains and buses.

Since is no easy solution to such a problem, there needs to be an active involvement from government bodies and commuters. To begin with there should be more number of routes especially in the area which is densely populated. Civil authorities need to also provide better infrastructure in public transport so that daily commuters are more keen in choosing them over cars. In addition to that there should be separate coaches and seats for women, elderly folks and disabled people so it is easy, safe and convenient for them.

In conclusion, yes there are a lot of commuters using cars for transportation but if there are better and faster options in trains and buses are available, then everyone will start travelling in them.